Sweden, how sweed! - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu Sweden, how sweed! - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu

Sweden, how sweed!

Door: Kevin van Berlo

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kevin

06 September 2015 | Zweden, Jönköping

Sweden, how sweed!

It is the 6th of September now and I am sitting in my room in Raslätt. Raslätt is my apartment where I will be living together with 2 Swedish guys (these guys are brothers) and 1 Spanish guy. I just had some knäckebröd with peanutbutter out of a tube (I am really getting into this Swedish culture) and actually I was busy doing my video assignment, but as my concentration got to a level where I rather start cleaning the house, I decided to write myself a blog. At first I was not sure whether I should write a blog this time, but I will probably regret it later on if I didn’t, so let’s start!

Around 3 weeks ago I came back from Albufeira (Portugal) with my friends, I shared my stories with my family, I went to sleep (thanks mom for doing my laundry the whole night ) and I knew in 24 hours I would be in Sweden. Of course I was super excited and it was really hard to find some sleep that night.

The next morning my dad brought me to the airport and a flight and some bus- and train rides later I got into Jönköping (This is the place I am going to do my master for one year). Jönköping is the 10th biggest city from Sweden and located in between Götheborg and Stockholm. In the final train to Stockholm I already met another international student from Belgium and together we went to the pickup service, which brought us to the campus. At campus we had to go to the accommodation office where we would get our accommodation for this year. I really hoped to get my first choice or at least my second choice, but they couldn’t guarantee me anything, because I signed up really late in comparison to other students. The only thing they could guarantee me was that I didn’t have to sleep under a bridge. So we walked into the accommodation office and they told me I was going to live in Raslätt (My first choice!!!). I was really happy about this, because over 1000 students, most of them international, live in Raslätt. In a year I am probably going to be able to throw a dart arrow at a geographical map and I will probably know people there. Besides all the people that live in Raslätt, it is just perfect because we have two soccer fields, a beach volleyball field, a tennis field and we got a common room (Called Sockertoppen) where we can practice our table tennis-, table football and pool skills. The moment we mastered all these activities, we can relax in the sauna. And last but not least, there will be great parties in Raslätt! The only thing that could have been better is the distance to campus and to the city centre, as we have to take a bus to all these places.

The guys from accommodation office were about to take us to our accommodation, but well they had Ficka, a typical Swedish phenomena. This is almost the same as Tea Time, Swedish people get some coffee and on the side there is a sweet, really sweet snack. Obvious this was more important than bringing us to our accommodation so we ended up waiting for over 1,5 hour untill they brought us to Raslatt! At around 20:00 I got in Raslatt and the first thing I did was taking a shower and getting to meet my apartment mate (Only the Swedish guy was already at the apartment). I got so lucky with him, as he was already living here for 4 years so all the cutlery, plates were already taken care of. We even have a microwave. So the only reason going to the IKEA is for the Köttbullar (meatballs). And I have to say they are really amazing and cheap actually (which is very rare, because everything is expensive and I mean too expensive ). After this I went to Sockertoppen to get to meet some new people. I got to meet some people and we ended up playing beerpong with Bacardi razz I bought at the airport (is this called rumpong??)

After I slept for the first time in my new bed, I went to the supermarket called Willy’s. This one is located only a few minutes from my apartment and they have almost everything that is necessary, but yeah it has to be said that it is quite expensive and everything is in Swedish (Svenska) so I just bought the stuff I always buy in Holland (very much integrating yeah). The rest of the day I went to IKEA I already told about and I guess nothing special happened that day.

On Monday we had an introduction course at school and after a few minutes “Sexkreation” (They arrange the Kick-off for students from Jönköping International Business School (JIBS)) came in with the song WE ARE ALL IN THIS TOGETHER (I will never forget that song anymore and the other 5 songs we listened to during the kick-off). They explained us about what the kick-off was going to be like and after that our class got divided into groups and we got together with groups from other classes and for the next 10 days we would be “The Lion Kings”. So we went buying a green overall (This colour is only for the JIBS students and we literally had to wear the overall during the whole Kick-off) and we got tickets for the Kick-off week and the festival which was going to be organized on Friday.

I can talk for hours about the Kick-off, but nobody wants to read articles that are too long (Yep, I realised that the last few days when school started). So during Kick-off we had a lot of activities like speeddating (I told some people I was from China and they actually believed me, really awkward at first, but really funny at the end), beerpong, caps (a drinking game in Sweden where when u are unlucky u have to drink a sip of everyone’s drink (imagine beer, cider, wine, vodka, coke etc. being mixed with one another)), and almost every night we went to Akademien (A student club for students by students). At this club the prizes are actually oké (just oké) and during the rest of the year every Wednesday night everyone will gather in Akademien for a nice night out. Oh, and we got some sittnings (in Holland called a cantus), a toga party, a full moon party and we literally danced our asses off during these 10 days. We even had a special Lion King dance, which I ain’t going to show . But the word heaven got a new definition these 10 days!

For now I think this is enough to show you guys that I am still alive and enjoying my experience to the fullest. Now I guess I have to continue studying, because that’s what I am in Sweden for, right?

Cheers!

Kevin

  • 06 September 2015 - 22:45

    Mam:

    Goed bezig Kevin !!
    Liefs, mam

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kevin

TravelKing

Actief sinds 14 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 515
Totaal aantal bezoekers 21622

Voorgaande reizen:

09 November 2016 - 09 November 2017

Working Holiday, New Zealand

15 Augustus 2015 - 01 Juli 2016

Master Zweden, Jönköping

22 Januari 2014 - 30 Juni 2014

Minor Zuid-Afrika, Vanderbijlpark

Landen bezocht: