Final blog from Sweden - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu Final blog from Sweden - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu

Final blog from Sweden

Door: Kevin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kevin

08 Juni 2016 | Zweden, Jönköping

It has been a while that I wrote a blog and a lot has happened since then. With ESN, we organized a Valborg and a final pubcrawl. I finished my schoolwork, graduated and got as a reward a can of surstromming. We finished our semester and therefore also our exchange time with some BBQ moments in Raslatt. Furthermore, Jesper and my family came to visit me. I would like to dedicate this blog to my friends from the last two semesters that havent written in the last dedicated blog.

Hamza Amjad, Pakistan:
The first time I met you, u told me u were from South Africa and i actually believed it, but that was just the start the rest is just memories with this amazing dude! The first memory we have together is when we met and took a picture with a guy from the university who looked like Zlatan Ibrahimovic and when in Sweden Zlatan is the GOD! i love his accent and u are the person who told people or me atleast that Holland is not just about Amsterdam the whole country can party like there is no tomorrow! But the sad part is that u are leaving Jönköping and there can be no one who is as wild as Kevin and at the same time the most amazing person that i ever came across! I don't know where we will end up but the brotherly bond we share is gonna end a lifetime and we will see eachother in the most random place and make it lit! jönköping will never be the same without u!

Christoffer Wahlin, Sweden:
I just had the pleasure to study with Kevin for a year! Thanks for always bringing a smile and once you get your priorities straight you will go far! Enjoy life to max until then. I'll miss you my Dutch friend!

Simon Swedlund, France:
After a whole year here in JU sharing awesome moment and expriences, the last semester is coming to an end and "our crazy dutch business man who hated his thesis real bad" is leaving Jönköping. It has been a real honour to meet you man, I can definitely say you are an absolute legend!

For me, friendship is about learning and taking as much as I can from people I meet throughout the years. It's been awesome to met a dude like you with such positive vibes all the time and always down for some banter and chicken nuggets at 4am. Even securitas has appreciated your positiveness so much that they showed up at a bunch of your parties (somehow they made you pay for the invitation).

Long story short, you are an awesome dude and I have really appreciated your friendship and company the past year. I wish you all the best in the upcoming years (although I know you're gonna miss the student life quite a bit), and make sure you keep up that positive mindset of yours all the time because it's definitely something to look up to!!

Enjoy summer holidays, enjoy the following years doing what you wanna do, and remember that your homie Simon is in JKP for the next two years. So if you're missing Raslätt in the near future, hit me up and you will be more than welcome to visit.

Stay safe dude and see you soon!

Kertu Kuldmaa, Estonia:
All our breakfasts, lunches and dinners If I ever release that Kertu's cookbook you will be the first recipient. Not that you need it since you have come such a long way from offering store bought pizza on a piece of cardboard I'll never forget the first time we met in that stinky elevator and Technoverket that followed which you don't remember for some odd reason... Råslätt won't be the same without you! I hope you get that dream marketing job and the traveling life with exotic food. And thank for making me a better Buddy, I am sure my future buddies appreciate that

Alexis Jaynelle, USA:
Last night my friend turned to me and told me "we are never going to be the same again." And reflecting back on this adventurous semester I couldn't help but agree. There is so many amazing people with all unique personalities in a different place. There was so much to learn and experience. From new foods and drinking games to beach volleyball and traveling on a skinny budget. Classes were fun too, not really. The school system is completely different and honestly not my favorite, but they have great French fries in JIBS. I'm really going to miss those. Overall the Swedish culture was unlike the culture of the Caribbean that I was use to, but I enjoyed it just as much. I've learned so much about myself and made some pretty great friends along the way.

Gabriel Diaz, Mexico:
To me it's never about the beginning or the ending of something. It's always about the journey in between. First time people met and the last words the day to each other are often overrated in my opinion. It's usually mere coincidence.

However, of all that happens in between, we are completely responsible for it. We decide how do exploit our friendship and how much do we want to open up to the other person.

I wasn't so sure about how to react to this crazy Dutch guy who I had just met in my first night in Sweden and wanted to play beer pong with raspberry Bacardi shots. Seemed a bit hardcore to my eyes, and maybe it took some time for me to erase that image of him. Nevertheless, we happen to get to know each other way better in a trip to Denmark. That's when I took the chance to meet the real Kevin. Best decision I made in that trip.

From there on we sort of just clicked and it didn't take me long to address him as one of the people I regarded the most in this lovely Swedish ghetto.

I do have to mention the change I saw in this dutchie in the second semester. From not really caring about school to being so involved in an association that he undertook a project as important as valbobrg. Such a change I was honored to witness. Not that I felt like you were doing something bad or anything of the sort, just that I feel you decided to learn and challenge yourself furthermore. I'm proud of you dude.

I can say so many words but I have to find a balance and stop at a certain point. Keep this words close man, but keep our memories closer. In the end it's all about that. It never ends, it just starts in a different way. Keep my dance moves close, our sushi close, our championship close, and our friendship as well. You're more than welcome to visit me in Mexico my friend.

Stay away from the bad influences of boy and Ajax, your good friend.

Jade Feliene, The Netherlands:
My best experience was the first night in Raslatt with Kevin, Alex and Gabriel. Kevin was showing off with his bottle of Bacardi Razz;) and we started to play beerpong right away. And got in trouble with neighbors and Securitas. At our last night together, we repeated this, was a great year with all of you.

Christopher Meszaros, Hungary:
"We have nothing but good times together. Your one of the people who stayed here the whole year from august which ment more after parties together. Its a shame i couldnt join you on this semesters sea battle however i remember the first one, were we sat up there in a circle and pouring lemon into our eyes because we didnt have any drinks hahahah. If you ever need speakers, you know who to contact. Wish you the best of luck mate!

Alex Denton, Australia:
My encounter with Kevin van Berlo began two semesters ago when we both started our exchange experience in Sweden.
I didn’t know Kevin very well in my first semester and, of what I knew, he was that annoying Dutch guy who always had Securitas come to his house and fine him for his parties.

But the second semester is when I got to know him and my perception of him changed drastically. As I joined ESN Jönköping I worked with him immediately on a small PhotoChallenge. I realised he was a good worker who was eager to get things done. As our work relationship grew stronger with the PhotoChallenges, One World Sittning, Sea Battle and Valborg (all great memories enhanced by the presence of Kevin), so did our friendship. He became a big part of the memories in my second semester in Sweden and I am happy for that.

Us working together as breakfast and lunch masters was something of which to be proud, however we didn’t quite succeed as dinner masters as most of our dinners ended up all over the floor. We made quite good BBQ masters as well; so good, in fact, that upon setting up a BBQ in the middle of a football field the girls football team decided to train around us rather than kindly tell us to leave! I wouldn’t say all our meals were delicious, however. There is one meal that will haunt myself, Kevin and Louise for a long time. This is the dreaded Surströmming. This fish, fermented in its own guts in the sun for several months and then re-packed in unsterilized cans for a year, brought us no joy when it was in our mouths (or in our noses). Although it was not a pleasant experience, I was glad to have these two daredevils at my side going through it with me.

As most of us prepare to leave to different places all over the world, and as wave after wave of new faces come to Råslätt each passing semester, I know one thing for sure:

There will never be another character quite like Kevin van Berlo.

Ana Paola, Mexico, America and Spain:
I remember hearing your name everywhere first semester, Kevin the guy who goes to all the parties, Kevin the guy who always has securitas come over, Kevin the guy who always misses the bus at aka. I remember the first time I met you; you started talking to me about enjoying life and just living life to the fullest. I remember talking to you more and more, and just occasionally seeing you at all the parties and the more I saw you the more we talked. Then thanks to my grandson Kyle I finally got to meet the Kevin everyone talked so much about. Our little family, and when we went to the Christmas party and all the boys cooked ;D When we shared a cab with Chris and Kyle, on aka Halloween party because we were getting burgers, and you were it was after Halloween and we were all dressed in costumes, you had your Indian dress, we were homeless, and out on the street at 2 in the morning in Juneporten. You helped me through a lot this semester and always made me see the brighter side in ugly situations. Then we found our love for burgers, and had our first burger date, were the burgers fell apart on the pan but still good:p (and heard all your Africa trip stories) We had a gastronomic burger tour, now my burger cooking buddy is leaving. This semester started off rocky, but we had an amazing kick off dancing almost every night with Katya on stage made it all better. I remember hearing your name everywhere first semester, but now that I finally met this famous Kevin, Kevin the guy is always happy and joyful, brings fun to the parties, always positive, and always with a good attitude. I will miss you so much and it makes me sad I won’t be seeing you at parties and yelling Van Berlo! Every time you walk in. It makes me sad my other son will leave, and I won’t have you around anymore, but like you once said to me, “ it’s better to have something and loose it than to never of had it at all.” Like friendships, thank you for your friendship.

It’s not a goodbye, but a see you later my dearest Van Berlo! Xoxo mom

Katya Mironovich, 70% Russian:
Keviiin, the craziest dutchy i know! I am really bad at saying goodbye, because it's the most unpleasant part of any adventure. I can sincerely say that meeting you was one of them. It's all started with technoverket preparty, when I randomly met you on the way there. You were so excited, like on any other prepary we've been together! And AKAAAA!!! I hated Aka so much before, but since the kick off started we just rocked that place! Dancing on the stage was the highlight of it! I remember when you fell last time from the stage, because of a random idiot who pushed you. And what did you do? All covered in beer, being hit, you were smiling and kept on having fun without giving shit about anyone's opinion. Who else would be able to do that? That's what i appreciate about you, no matter what yoy stay so pumped, spreading your happiness and positive attitude! Where do you even get so much energy, huh??
And oh, mixing drinks at aka not being cought is a true art!
And remember food safari? Shots straight away and lovely food, i think you almost burned your flag at this time!
Making greasy but so good burgers with me being a walking virus, sneezing and coughing all the time required a huge patience and bravery, right?
You are the best person to persuade people going to the sea battle! It was really cool, even though you had to be responsible( for once ;P)
Every moment spent was so awesome, ao i guess Råslätt will become too boring without you! Stay as you are, keep it real, keep laughing, making jokes, keep dribking Latvian beer and never become old and bold!
It's only the beginning of another great adventure! Hope to see you again one day! Cheers, Kevin!
P.S You should finally publish Katyana book, we could all get rich and famous
P.S.S. Don't hate russians. If they are only 70% russian, they are fun

Reddy Mallikarjuna, India:
'It's time to move on to conquer new battles and scale new heights but we wish that you don't forget our friendship! Go ahead and enjoy the new world. Friends are forever!

Adele Fidji, France:
"The crazy Kevin, I think I'm not the only one to tell you this, because for a lot of people you are crazy ! I didn't really get to know you this year, maybe because we were in different association that hate each other ^^ no I'm kidding ! Printing posters with you for Valborg, drinking with you at the first Sea Battle, eating desert for the food safari, organizing the One World Sittning together (you made me laugh trying to use the French keyboard, I'm sorry. and listening to you at Aka a lot on Wednesday night, that's pretty much how we met and I'm glad I spend this time with you !Don't stop being crazy, maybe a bit less, but you're awesome with all your stories. we might see each other again, if this is the case, we will get some beer together. Enjoy life!

Toung Koocharoenprasit, Thailand:
Im exchange student from Thailand. For this 6 months in Jonkoping, I'm very enjoy every moments from traveling, studying and meeting new friends from many countries in Europe and Asia. I have gained experiences a new culture and the weather that it is very different from Thailand!! Moreover, this exchange semester, i applied for buddy. Kevin is my buddy, he is so nice and friendly. He is one of my friends that made my exchange life more fun and happy. Last week, i cooked "pad-thai", Thai food, for Kevin that is my first time for that menu!!! LOL . Thank you for all the good memories. This 6 months passes so fast but I will never forget this, Toung

Hannah Sullivan, New Zealand:
Silly van Berlo, I have had an amazing experience on my exchange and am pleased to have shared so many of these memories with you.
We've shared so much laughter and unforgettable experiences. Keep being your kind, beautiful self please.
With all my love, Hannah.
P.s. I hope due to this addition to your blogpost you will never forget me!

Hristo Balabanovic, Bulgaria:
The crazy Dutch! By Hristo Balabanov (The BEST Bulgarian).
Once upon a time I met this crazy guy on an interview for ESN. Since then he brought a little bit of craziness and happiness into international students life. Kevin showed us how to party HARD! Well the semester wasn’t only parties so from time to time we chill eating nice meals (I am a better cook but his soup was OK :D ) and watching American Pie. During the stay in Jonkoping he tried to be cool which worked only once when he was wearing a beautiful red wig. Trying to find a perfect wig took us a lot of time and efforts but the result was amazing. I enjoyed the time spend with that crazy person and his accent :D. I loved to watch him trying to juggle and walk on rope or trying to pick up girls in AKA. If we put the wig a side we have common interests that’s why chilling and parting with him was super nice and I enjoyed it on fullest.
See you soon somewhere in the world!

Jan Hofmann, Germany:
Damn, time passes by so fast.

It feels like yesterday I arrived in Jönköping to study abroad one final time, to broaden my horizon. Just like me hundreds of international students arrived in this small town on a sunny August eve in 2015; a place known as the capital of beautiful Småland, where Pipi Longstocking and IKEA were born. Everyone was full of expectations and curiosity. And hell yeah, we wouldn’t be disappointed. Travelling completely on our own to a new environment, we were all keen to meet new people with different backgrounds. Destiny broad us together in a concrete jungle called Råslätt, located in the southern periphery of Jönköping. Refuge for the poor and the old – and around 500 students. Surely not the place one would find in tourist brochures but it turned out to be the best place on earth. In our ugly large-panel system buildings we experienced more crazy and beautiful stuff than anyone could imagine, more than my words could express. As autumn approached we got to know each other better, we grew together as a huge multicultural family. We partied together, we fought serious hangovers together, we laughed together; some of us even slept together! :D We shared our food, knowledge and dreams with each other. We got wiser, more tolerant and consequently we got older together.

One of the precious souls I met goes by the name of Kevin van Berlo. A funny guy from the Netherlands, with an even funnier accent. A lad that would never shy away from a massive party. A master student just like me, he always seemed to find the right balance between academics and fun. In fact, the fun needs to be foregrounded in this context. He quickly gained the reputation of hosting the biggest and loudest parties in Råslätt, much to the displeasure of Securitas and several neighbors who did not share the same love for gathering with friends and having a good time. One legendary night will remain unforgotten: with Kevin as a team mate I won not less than 11 (!) beer pong matches in a row; a performance that is worth being inducted into the Hall of Fame of drinking games. There was a discussion on erecting a 5 meter stature in front of Sockertoppen (Råslätt’s ultimate venue for all kinds of fun) to honor this memorable exhibition of pure skill.

Besides being a devout party animal, Kevin is also a guy one can have a serious conversation with. He cares about others and got involved into all kinds of volunteering work, to make new friends and to support the endeavors seeking to improve student life.

Yesterday, I had to bid farewell to Kevin. Although he was ‘only’ one of many splendid individuals I met during these awesome 10 months in Sweden, I felt a bit nostalgic. We had a blast together and I hope that the precious memories we share will be stronger than any potential Post-Erasmus-Syndrome (look it up people, it really exists!). I also hope that we will meet again, the Netherlands and Germany apparently are not that far away from each other.

I wish you all the best for the future, may all your dreams come true! Find a good job and surround yourself with people that deserve you as a friend!

See you soon!

Alex Manon, Mexico:
"It is difficult to start from where to describe my adventures with my dutch taco Mr Van Berlo... He was the 2nd friend I made and now I can't imagine this year in Sweden without him. From playing beerpong with swedish girls to dancing on top of Akademien's dancefloor, from extreme pingpong matches to beach volleyball tournments, from eating swedish tacos to learning (and improving) true mexican quesadillas, from deep conversations on friendship, life and marketing to sleepless nights of thesis, and celebrating triumphs together as much as having someone to talk when life is tough; all of this will make me miss the dutch taco partnership. This adventures have nothing but good memories, and if I had some final words for you they would be that I just hope you learnt as much from me as I learnt from you... you creative, funny, true, and amazing gringo".

Sara Nascimben, Italy:
Jönköping...a little city in the middle of nowhere that for us will always represent a piece of home. During these months we all gave a little piece of us to our new friends, growing, learning and sharing amazing moments together. I will always consider this as the best enrichment in my life!Thank you....

Alex Django, Germany:
So apparently your time in jkpg has come to an end as well…
No more parties in Alpha house… No more volleyball in beautiful raslatt…
No more fancy costumes at the RSF parties… And… no more permanent-exchange-student life.
We surely did have a great time in Sverige and it will hopefully stay in our memories forever.
I hope after South Africa, you can consider Sweden as one of the best times of your life as well!
Hope to see you soon, buddy!


Mattias Roselin, Sweden:
When we met for the first time you probably thought, “Who is this fucking Swede?” But some nice words from a small Danish girl made you change your mind and because of that we quickly became friends.

Our time together has been short but an awesome experience and I will miss you more than a Dutchie miss their bikes. But don’t be sad that you have to leave Sweden, you will always have a couch to crash on when you visit us in the future.

I promise you, our eyes will meet again somewhere in this small world.

XOXO “The dazzling Mathilda”

P.S. I will send you an email when my upcoming stripper business needs a marketer.



I would like to thank everyone for this amazing experience and especially the ones that took their time to leave a last message as memory. Even though, we will get old and we drank away some brain cells, this memories will last forever!

~ Kevin





  • 09 Juni 2016 - 00:19

    Mam:

    Welcome home, dear Kevin :-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kevin

TravelKing

Actief sinds 14 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 626
Totaal aantal bezoekers 21564

Voorgaande reizen:

09 November 2016 - 09 November 2017

Working Holiday, New Zealand

15 Augustus 2015 - 01 Juli 2016

Master Zweden, Jönköping

22 Januari 2014 - 30 Juni 2014

Minor Zuid-Afrika, Vanderbijlpark

Landen bezocht: