The first many steps in New-Zealand - Reisverslag uit Auckland, Nieuw Zeeland van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu The first many steps in New-Zealand - Reisverslag uit Auckland, Nieuw Zeeland van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu

The first many steps in New-Zealand

Door: Kevin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kevin

07 Mei 2017 | Nieuw Zeeland, Auckland

I remember the 9th of November as the day of yesterday.

Early morning, stuck in traffic, 2 big suitcases in the trunk, the radio on at the background, listening to the elections in the Unites States of Amerika, the traffic being just long enough to find out Trump taking Obama's seat and just short enough to make it right in time for what is gonna be a long haul flight, with the emphasize on long.

I was on my way to New Zealand to surprise Hannah with a year long visit, while she was in the understanding I was coming only a week later. The challenge for me was to keep it a secret and even my Photoshop skills got tested by having to send a "fake" flight ticket to Hannah. I also missed out on my birthday present, as this one arrived in the Netherlands while I was on a layover in Hong Kong.

But after all, I managed to keep it secret and the moment Logan picked me up from Auckland Airport the adrenaline was rushing through my body. However, nothing could spoil this surprise anymore right? After I took a refreshing shower, it was show time! Logan and me were on our way to the Medical Centre waiting for lunch time, more specifically waiting for Hannah to walk out. 5 Minutes later, no one there. 10 Minutes later, no one there. 15 Minutes later no one there. Wasn't she hungry? So we decided to go to the reception, only to find out she already went out for lunch..... via the employee exit. This time it was me getting caught in a surprise, as we were walking back to the house she jumped me like a born rugby player to the ground. Well, hello. Surprise!

Soon enough after I settled and over won the jet lag, I had my first (and only) job interview in Auckland. This went well, the next day I could come back for an observation day with Sharman and a week later I started working for Kulture Marketing. I just got myself into the world of assertive, money-evolved, heaps of coffee and red bull drinking sales people.

The first couple of months in Kulture Marketing I was representing My Republic and selling their broadband deals residentially. This got me dealing with grumpy customers, rainy days, hungry dogs and lots of rejections. As time passed and I started mastering the sales models, I began realizing it's not only a good learning experience but there is also good money involved when you start becoming successful.

A few months ago I switched campaigns from My Republic to Switch Utilities LTD. This involves selling electricity and gas to businesses in and around Auckland. Offering cheaper power and gas, "a child can do the dishes". One month ago a fun and successful road trip to Whangarei with Sharman and Corry has been done. This "Switch" in campaigns is definitely approved!

I have already been half a year in New Zealand and so far my backpacker experience and sightseeing has been limited to the North Island with places such as Gisborne, Taupo, Rotorua, Hamilton, Piha, Mount Maunganui, Whangarei and Auckland. These 6 months I have been able to do a lot of activities with Hannah such as NYE, Archery, Passenger, White Water Rafting, Golf, Boogie-boarding, Sand-boarding, Cricket, a couple of parties and some intense hiking.

The past half year has simply been a rollercoaster of new experiences, including a 10 day visit to USA to visit Maikel and have a meet up with my family again. I never thought of writing the experiences down in a blog, like I did in South-Africa and Sweden, but this makes me realize how fortunate I am having the opportunity to embrace my wanderlust.

Peace out!


~ Kevin












  • 07 Mei 2017 - 15:20

    Mam:

    Mooi geschreven Kevin ♥️

  • 08 Mei 2017 - 22:42

    Paul:

    Hi Kevin;

    Cool story and quite an adventure to survive as a salesman!
    And your conclusion is very wise: "to be fortune and have freedom to travel and wandering in health".

    Enjoy and greetings to Hannah and family.

    Greetings,

    Paul and family

  • 09 Mei 2017 - 12:20

    Miel:

    Volgens mij kun jij inmiddels alles verkopen , zelfs je schoonmoeder. ga voort ga voort!
    Groeten uit Nijmegen van ons allemaal!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kevin

TravelKing

Actief sinds 14 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 559
Totaal aantal bezoekers 21542

Voorgaande reizen:

09 November 2016 - 09 November 2017

Working Holiday, New Zealand

15 Augustus 2015 - 01 Juli 2016

Master Zweden, Jönköping

22 Januari 2014 - 30 Juni 2014

Minor Zuid-Afrika, Vanderbijlpark

Landen bezocht: