Wondering where I find the time to write this blog - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu Wondering where I find the time to write this blog - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu

Wondering where I find the time to write this blog

Door: Kevin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kevin

04 Februari 2016 | Zweden, Jönköping

Hey everyone!

The new semester has started and even though there are a lot of memorisable activities going on this side, it feels like my life gets kind of structured here the second semester.

The main components of my life right now are school, ESN, sports and social life. Normally I don’t like too much structure (the South-African me is probably saying this), but now it is fine because there is enough space between the structure for “let’s feel how the wind blows decisions”.

Last time I was telling about the re-exam I got for Consumer Behaviour and now I can tell with proud that I got a B as grade. This means mostly that I got happily drunk that particular night.
Furthermore, I started my thesis with Carl (Estonia) and we already got some great ideas how to make it interesting…. And then I am not only talking about making the thesis interesting (Hint: Alcohol is cheap in Estonia). Besides that, for the other course we got assigned to a company, which we have to write a business plan for. The best part of this is that we have to visit the company for at least 3 times and in order to visit them we have the possibility to rent a limousine for free. Within this we get a private driver and also champagne. So anyone that is up for a road trip (we can discuss the price), let me know! Any other great ideas to make this semester even better are also welcome.

Last Saturday was my “baptism of fire” (not sure if this is correct English) for the ESN. As event manager my first event was going to take place. So we were sitting at the HLK lobby and around 40 people decided to face the cold weather to join the ESN Pubcrawl 1.0. This was beyond my expectation and I couldn’t be more happier with 40 students having to challenge me and the other 4 board members in some games to complete their BINGO card which was part of the pub crawl. The game of “Hedbanz” also called “Who am I?”resulted into hilarious moments and the first pub was therefore a success. However, the second pub didn’t take our reservation in account, which led to an unpleasant surprise, but motivated as we are, still a bunch of people made it to the third and last pub where we could discuss life with beers and hamburgers on the side.

Today was a nerve-racking day full of job interviews. Luckily it wasn’t me sweating this time, because I was the one on the side asking questions towards 8 students that were applying to join the ESN board on the open functions. I was positively surprised by the interviews and this resulted into getting new enthusiastic talent in our group. I can’t wait till the internal ESN kick off takes place from where on we can really start building on a cool organizations everyone knows about. All this starting with having every week an ESN pre party at Delta House, for the love of beer pong and parties.

Also do I have a buddy called Toung (Thailand) who I show the inside outs of student life in Jönköping and which she is going to reward me for with Thai food, right? (I really hope you are reading this) The first thing we did was baptising her in the world of “fika” before we had the buddy mingle which will be concluded with a buddy bowling in February. Besides that, she always goes to Akademien, but of course, because there is no Akademien in Thailand.

Lately I have also been doing a lot of sports. Mainly going to the gym and playing football. We even played outdoors lately, which is surprisingly, because I would have never thought to be able to play outside in Sweden in January and February. Especially not with the knowledge that there are many Mexican students here that like to play football. Next week Monday there will be an indoor football tournament.

Unfortunately the only thing I am going to miss out on is Lapland. All of my friends are going to Lapland and I am really jealous, but my time is not allowing me to go and also do I think that Estonians are dangerous, so I have to be careful with my thesis. So I guess that week I will lock myself up in my room and study like a nerd so that I can laugh at my friends when I am in the park with a beer and they are finishing their school work.

Last but not least, two of my Dutch friends are coming to check out the Swedish girls in March. Let’s see if the rumours are true.

Tomorrow is going to be the first Raslatt party, so I am off to bed now and I hope next time I write, my Dutch friends are still alive, because tomorrow Carnaval is starting in the Netherlands!

Lots of love!


~ Kevin

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kevin

TravelKing

Actief sinds 14 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 321
Totaal aantal bezoekers 21516

Voorgaande reizen:

09 November 2016 - 09 November 2017

Working Holiday, New Zealand

15 Augustus 2015 - 01 Juli 2016

Master Zweden, Jönköping

22 Januari 2014 - 30 Juni 2014

Minor Zuid-Afrika, Vanderbijlpark

Landen bezocht: