Update before Norway is to be off my bucketlist! - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu Update before Norway is to be off my bucketlist! - Reisverslag uit Jönköping, Zweden van Kevin Berlo - WaarBenJij.nu

Update before Norway is to be off my bucketlist!

Door: Kevin

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Kevin

30 September 2015 | Zweden, Jönköping

Hey Guys!

Saturday I am leaving for a trip to Norway, so I think it’s time for an update from Jönköping.

Let’s start with life at university: The last few weeks we have had 2 assignments, which one of them is still to be graded and the other one I got 12 out of 15. Furthermore for both my courses I have group projects which have to be finished before I go to Norway. So the next few days are going to be a little bit of a struggle but in my opinion we are on the right track. Then when I get back from Norway I already finish off my first semester with 2 exams. For me this university is really interesting, because the teachers are really informal and not 65+ and dressed up in suits like they would probably be in Holland. Furthermore, the way of teaching is really interesting for me and many practical implementations are used. Even though the articles… let’s not talk about those..

Besides of all the time keeping on track with my studying, I also lost a lot of money. And I mean literally lost.. First I had to pay 400 Krono, because the wind decided to close my door and as my door goes immediately on lock and I was opening the apartment door for some people, the security had to come for literally 5 seconds and open the hand for around 45 euro. But even worse is the fine of 850 Krono I got for throwing an afterparty on Saturday. Someone decided to call the security and the moment the security came it seemed like a warning, but 2 days later there was a fine of around 90 euro on my table and I had to explain myself to the accommodation officer. Next time it would be highly appreciated if the person to call would have come to my door and give me a warning before calling security, as we are all students. But it was a good life lesson, next time afterparty at someone’s else place. Imagine what I could have done with 135 euro, I could have bought a few lollies at least.

Still many activities are organized for students in order to enjoy Swedish life. So have I been to a Mexican party in Raslatt where we got salsa, tequila, Corazon, cerveza, muy bueno, tortilla’s, taco’s, avocado’s served. Dale! There are so many Mexicans in Jönköping and this resulted into Mexican food again at the food safari, which I will come back to later.
Furthermore there was a Raslatt party “All around the World” where me and my roommates did an inauguration of the house by playing beer pong with friends as a pre-party (at least pre-parties are allowed). On Tuesday there was a maskerade with FEST, where everybody got dressed up like Zorro. Before this party we had a pre-party at Delta House which was my second choice after Raslatt. At this point, I am still happy that I can call Raslatt my home.

On Wednesday it was time for the food safari. Fabian and me teamed up and for our starter we went to two Mexican girls that made us some nacho’s. For every meal there are 6 people (2 that prepare the meal and 4 that enjoy the meal) and the funny thing is that we started with the two Mexicans girls, two Swedish guys, Fabian and me and after 10 minutes a new group of 2 ladies came in and it seemed that the 2 Swedish guys were at the wrong location. Lucky bastards, they got to eat 2 starters. Then for the main meal it was Fabians and mine turn and we decided to bake frozen pizzas. In other words, we actually made pancakes in the form of Holland and Germany, putting on some Deutsche schlager and Dieter Koblenz and it was a huge success according to the happy faces of the eaters. For the dessert we went to another apartment where we got an amazing dessert, so good that we had to eat even though we were full after the amazing pancakes. After this we played some drinking games, put on our overalls and took the bus to Akademien. Or well, I actually missed the bus and as I was too stubborn to wait for 30 minutes I decided to walk. After trying to hitchhike for 15 minutes, finally a car stopped for me and I was so happy, but it seemed to be a taxi.. but at least I got into Akademien.

The next day I went to an ice hockey match of the Jönköping and it has the setup of American sports with a lot of entertainment, but even though it was really cool (and cool), I have to go back to some other matches, because for once they didn’t get into a fight, or is that just a misperception of me? It was interesting to see how hard they got hit into the windows though and they were definitely no footballers, because one second later they were up again to take back on that guy. At the end my team (yeah I know) won 4-1.

On Friday there was the taco party, where we got Swedish taco’s (all Mexican people were so disappointed about the knowledge of the real ingredients of a taco). After this there was a music quiz and some karaoke. At the end I was really satisfied (I can’t get no satisfaction ♫). On Saturday we went to Klubb Enkellt and after this we had the most expensive afterparty.

Sunday was a long day as we first went for a picknick on the beach to enjoy the nice weather and after that we went to Bisshops Arms where we get a student price of 50 krono for a full meal every Sunday. Afterwards we stayed awake till 6 AM in order to see the lunar eclipse. During this phenomena we created a bonfire and made some marshmallows and Swedish hotdogs. We got some really good competition for the hotdog girl.

Tonight I am going for a barbeque and afterwards it’s going to be Akademien again!

I am really excited about going to Norway for the kayaking and the glacier hiking!

And after this Halloween in Kopenhagen, November Lights in Stockholm and the ESN Sea Battle is coming for us.

So many activities and all worth it and part of my experience.

I love it!

Cyazz,

Kevin

  • 30 September 2015 - 16:15

    Anita:

    Enjoy your time in Norway son :-)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Kevin

TravelKing

Actief sinds 14 Jan. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 313
Totaal aantal bezoekers 21525

Voorgaande reizen:

09 November 2016 - 09 November 2017

Working Holiday, New Zealand

15 Augustus 2015 - 01 Juli 2016

Master Zweden, Jönköping

22 Januari 2014 - 30 Juni 2014

Minor Zuid-Afrika, Vanderbijlpark

Landen bezocht: